House Curie2018-09-14T13:02:34+00:00

Hello! We are your Curie House Captains. Feel free to come find us around school; we can assist you with any Curie related issues and provide necessary assistance. Our role is to support Mr. Hunt in making sure that all Curie students are happy and secure and have their voices heard.

Hello! We are your Curie House Captains. Feel free to come find us around school; we can assist you with any Curie related issues and provide necessary assistance. Our role is to support Mr. Hunt in making sure that all Curie students are happy and secure and have their voices heard.

Director of Studies

Mr D Hunt

Phone / (Ext) – 01905 423906 / 243

Email: d.hunt@cwlc.email

Learning Mentors

Miss E White

Learning Mentor Group: CEHW

Email: e.white@cwlc.email

Mr S Beasley

Learning Mentor Group: CSB

Email: s.beasley@cwlc.email

Miss D Williams

Learning Mentor Group: CDRW

Email: d.williams@cwlc.email

Mr L Humphries

Learning Mentor Group: CLAH

Email: l.humphries@cwlc.email

Mrs K Hughes

Learning Mentor Group: CKAH

Email: k.hughes@cwlc.email

Mrs J Segar

Learning Mentor Group: CJHS

Email: j.segar@cwlc.email

Miss R Hollier

Learning Mentor Group: CRH

Email: r.hollier@cwlc.email

Mr D Parsonage

Learning Mentor Group: CDKP

Email: d.parsonage@cwlc.email

Who was Marie Curie?

Born 7 November 1867 – Died 4 July 1934

Marie Curie was a Polish-born physicist and chemist and one of the most famous scientists of her time. Marie Sklodowska was born in Warsaw. In 1891, she went to Paris to study physics and mathematics at the Sorbonne where she met Pierre Curie, professor of the School of Physics. They were married in 1895. The Curies worked together investigating radioactivity, building on the work of the German physicist Roentgen and the French physicist Becquerel. In 1898, the Curies announced the discovery of the new chemical elements, polonium and radium. The Curies were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1903. After Pierre’s death in 1906, Marie continued the work they had begun together and she received a second Nobel Prize, for Chemistry, in 1911. The Curies’ research was crucial in the development of x-rays in surgery. She died on 4 July 1934 from leukemia, caused by exposure to high-energy radiation from her research.

Who was Marie Curie?

Born 7 November 1867 – Died 4 July 1934

Marie Curie was a Polish-born physicist and chemist and one of the most famous scientists of her time. Marie Sklodowska was born in Warsaw. In 1891, she went to Paris to study physics and mathematics at the Sorbonne where she met Pierre Curie, professor of the School of Physics. They were married in 1895. The Curies worked together investigating radioactivity, building on the work of the German physicist Roentgen and the French physicist Becquerel. In 1898, the Curies announced the discovery of the new chemical elements, polonium and radium. The Curies were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1903. After Pierre’s death in 1906, Marie continued the work they had begun together and she received a second Nobel Prize, for Chemistry, in 1911. The Curies’ research was crucial in the development of x-rays in surgery. She died on 4 July 1934 from leukemia, caused by exposure to high-energy radiation from her research.