Telephone: 01905 423906 | Email: office@cwlc.email

CHRISTOPHER WHITEHEAD

LANGUAGE COLLEGE AND SIXTH FORM

Welcome to House Shakespeare

Director of Studies

Mrs S Macdonald

Phone / (Ext) – 01905 423906
  • s.macdonald@cwlc.email
Learning Mentors

Miss A Kelly

SAMK
  • a.kelly@cwlc.email

D Sheward

SDLS
  • d.sheward@cwlc.email

Mr L Helme

SLJH
  • l.helme@cwlc.email

Miss J Jordan

SJJ
  • j.jordan@cwlc.email

Mrs J Parr

SJHP
  • j.parr@cwlc.email

Mr J Bishop

SJPB
  • j.bishop@cwlc.email

Miss S Ebbage

SSRE
  • s.ebbage@cwlc.email

Mr D Kent

SDPK
  • d.kent@cwlc.email
Who was William Shakespeare?

Born 23 April 1564 – Died 23 April 1616

William Shakespeare was born in Stratford-upon-Avon in Warwickshire. It is likely Shakespeare was educated at the local King Edward VI Grammar School in Stratford. At the age of 18 Shakespeare married Anne Hathaway and they had three children together. Shakespeare later moved to London to become an actor and writer. Shakespeare was a prolific playwright and poet. His earlier plays were mainly histories and comedies such as ‘Henry VI’, ‘Titus Andronicus’, ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’, ‘The Merchant of Venice’ and ‘Richard II’. The tragedy, ‘Romeo and Juliet’, was also published in this period. By the last years of Elizabeth I’s reign Shakespeare was well established as a famous poet and playwright and was called upon to perform several of his plays before the Queen at court. In 1598 the author Francis Meres described Shakespeare as England’s greatest writer in comedy and tragedy. Shakespeare spent the last five years of his life in New Place in Stratford. He died on 23 April 1616 at the age of 52 and was buried in Holy Trinity Church in Stratford.

CONTACT US

Christopher Whitehead Language College and Sixth Form,
Bromwich Road,
Worcester,
WR2 4AF

Phone: 01905 423906
Email: office@cwlc.email

© Christopher Whitehead Language College and Sixth Form | Website designed by CWLC IT Support Team | Company Number: 7634426